It is currently Thu Apr 26, 2018 12:20 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: > Re: Help!!!
PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2003 2:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2002 2:04 pm
Posts: 341
Doh, I forgot, I run it at a refresh rate of 85. You may want to change this in preferences. Remember, I run UT with everything on, so you may be taking a FPS hit there. After all, if you are getting above 60 FPH, it is not visible to the human eye. Quality of frames is more important to me than quantity. <p><SRA> The Jargonaut<br></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: > Re: Help!!!
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2003 7:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2002 5:58 am
Posts: 515
Location: A kitchen of course!
What sorta frame rates are gettin Jarg?? also you do you have vshnc = true or false??<br>Thanks ,Tri <p></p><i></i>

_________________
Image


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Re: > Re: Help!!!
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2003 2:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2002 2:04 pm
Posts: 341
I use DM-Morpheus to get my FPS. I use only one map, because i can compare the different settings easier. I just ran one, and it was right at 90 FPS average.<br><br>Morpheus<br>New Redeemer mod<br>30 frag limit<br>16 bots<br><br>As for V-sync, I run it on. Here is what the site says about the V-sync.<br><br>SwapInterval - Controls V Sync. Requires the WGL_EXT_swap_control OpenGL extension. Not present or -1 has no effect. Set to 0 for V Sync off. Set to 1 for V Sync on. Set to higher values for 1 frame every N screen refreshes.<br><br>Hope this helps <p><SRA> The Jargonaut<br></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Posted before
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2003 3:06 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2002 8:35 am
Posts: 2718
Location: Houston, Texas
For those of us geeks that like to compare systems to ensure we are getting what we are supposed to out of our computers, there are several benchmark tools and programs around. One, that I want to mention in particular is the most standard one used in UT. It is called the CityIntro (framerate count) benchmark<br>CityIntro is the little game story that plays every time you start UT unless you have already disabled it. This is a great benchmark because it will keep on playing over and over and is always exactly the same thing each time.<br>Here's how you do it if you choose to compare:<br>Start the UT game. Once the little intro starts to play press your tilde key(~) to get to the system console. The system console has a command line at the bottom of it just like a place to chat. Type "timedemo 1" without the quotes. Immediately, you see a frame counter on the right side of your screen. Close the system console and let the timedemo run through entirely about three times. Now press the tilde key again to bring back the system console and you should see about three lines stating the average framerate for each time demo you ran. Just close the system console to restore everything back to normal. Anything over 60/FPS is great. Anything higher than that is basically invisible to the human eye. C'mon nerds! What did you get. I'm going to run it again now that I'm using OpenGL again. i can say that in a online game of UT I'm averaging around 130 to 170 FPS. Be back soon with my results!<br> <p>Hermskii</p><i></i>

_________________
~Peace~

Hermskii,


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Latest Results
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2003 3:31 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2002 8:35 am
Posts: 2718
Location: Houston, Texas
Ok, doing as described above, I score 118 regularly. Stange since last night I had 125. I don't know what changed? My normal test map in play is Deck 16 with 16 bots, no mutators. In it, I average around 130-170. I did something cool a second ago. At the beginning of Deck 16, I did not press fire to start. I turned on the frame counter and flew around trying to see how high I could get the frame count to. It seemed I could get as close to anything I wanted but never seemed to get higher than 385 FPS. That was until I did a close up of the texture between the rows of light in the ceiling of Deck 16. There, I got my last sec score up to a max of 667 FPS. My VSync is set to true and Coronas are set to false. I'm using the extra larghe textures that come on the second UT CD. I have S3CT set to true in UT preferences for OpenGL. I use 1024X768 at 32bit with refresh at 75. <br><br> <p>Hermskii</p><i></i>

_________________
~Peace~

Hermskii,


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Help!!!
PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2003 7:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2002 5:58 am
Posts: 515
Location: A kitchen of course!
OK...I Finally got that card working in d3d ...Avg. fps on city intro= 105... on Agony with about 4 or 5 bots ..about 130 or so and its runs real smooth!!...sorry open GL was causing to many headaches Herm ...it would'nt quit the game without having to got to the task Manager and shutting it down <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :\ --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/ohwell.gif ALT=":\"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> ...but I think its right where it should be in d3d ...I can live with 100+ fps <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START ;) --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/wink.gif ALT=";)"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <br> See you guys tontite @ SRA 2k3 !!! <br> <br> Tri <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START 8) --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/glasses.gif ALT="8)"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p></p><i></i>

_________________
Image


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Hey Tri
PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2003 8:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2002 4:31 pm
Posts: 76
Have you grabbed the new Catalyst 3.4 drivers?<br>They came out two days ago.<br>Picked up over 300 marks on 3dMark03.<br>Not bad for a simple driver upgrade. <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Hey Tri
PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2003 9:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2002 5:58 am
Posts: 515
Location: A kitchen of course!
<br>Hey D !! Yeah...I did get it ...it unfortunatly has a problem with giving lower marks on 2001 madonion test though..!!! The release notes said this and other issues would be resolved in the next driver release though!!!<br>Man !! what a card!!...I love it!!! I wish could get the 256 mb. card thats coming out instead though!!<!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :rollin --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/roll.gif ALT=":rollin"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <br> Later ,Tri<!--EZCODE EMOTICON START 8) --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/glasses.gif ALT="8)"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p></p><i></i>

_________________
Image


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Jedi Knights style by HighDefGeek